Places of Interest nearby
Number of texts: 1
The first four houses in this quaint terrace were constructed in 1724 by Archbishop Boutler to provide homes to the widows of local Clergymen. The rest of the houses in the street followed on in the next 60 years.
Just beyond the original four, lies ‘Number 5 Vicar’s Hill’. When it opened in 1772 it served as the Diocesan Registry, holding records for the Church of Ireland Diocese. However it is now an important Grade A listed building.
In 2011 “Number 5” was reopened to the public as a state of the art museum. On display you will find ancient coins, gems, significant prints and early Christian artefacts, all of which are enhanced by the use of touch screens.
The end of this street is also the historic Armagh Public Library. It was founded in 1771 by Archbishop Robinson and is the oldest public library in Northern Ireland.
Amongst the many valuable gems in the Library is a first edition copy of Dean Jonathan Swift’s famed literary classic - ‘Gulliver’s Travels’ - complete with his handwritten notes!