The grounds of Klein-Sinaai used to be home to the very influential Cistercian abbey of Boudelo. In 1636 the monks of Boudelo built a small church there. That little church was sold during the French Revolution and eventually demolished in 1822. After that, it was decided that a new church should be built in the town centre, which is the current church of Our Lady Immaculate.
This Neo-Gothic church was built in 1853 and was designed by an architect named De Somme. The interior is a strange mixture of different styles, with Neo-Gothic altars and a Rococo pulpit (Louis XV), as well as a Classic churchwarden pew.
We can also find a portrait of ‘Our Lady Immaculate’ (1856) and statues of Our Lady and Saint Cornelius in this church.
The walled churchyard surrounding the church is still in use today. In the wall on the street side we can see the first of seven little chapels of the Procession of Our Lady of Sorrows.
Next to the church is a cave, the Cave of Our Lady of the Cyclists. This cave is the background for a unique event in Belgium: the yearly blessing of the cyclists. Among others, we can see shirts donated by Tom Steels and Johan Museeuw here.
Copyright: All rights reserved