Source: Willem Vandenameele
Cemetery of the brothers of love on the domain Sint Amandus in Beernem.
Located in a corner at the back of the domain. The construction took place in 1929. The plot is partially enclosed with a hedge, in some places replaced by a fence. Accessible via a wrought iron fence to stone pillars and then a central gravel path leading to a calvary, closed by small arduin pillars between wrought iron necklace. To the left of the Calvary the last resting place of the Brothers, to the right the resting place of the Capucijnen fathers. Monumental cedar next to Calvary. More than doubly used cemeteries on which original white wooden crosses, nowadays cross blue hard stones on a square basis. Until December 1981, patients and residents were buried here. Afterwards it became the resting place of the brothers of Huize Sint-Arnoldus. The cemetery is owned by the municipality of Beernem.
It was redesigned by the Houtland Regional Landscape in 2016. The fence was replaced by an evergreen hedge of holly. The interior space was divided into 'rooms' on the basis of beech hedges. In the farewell zone you can see a concrete element on which the coffin stands during the farewell ceremony. During the refurbishment they chose to work pesticide-free. To this end, a mixture of flowers was sown to depress the intensive maintenance.
The historical cemetery is located along the Landscape Park Bulskampveld walking network. Together with the historical buildings and the scenic setting of the institution, it forms a piece of social history of the Bulskampveld. Walkers can experience these aspects of the Landscape Park during a visit to the domain.
This site was upgraded as part of the land development project' Veldgebied Brugge' and was financed by the Brothers of Love and the Flemish Land Agency.
© 2006-2018 RouteYou - www.routeyou.com