The Kalmithaus, also called the Ludwigshafener Hut, near Maikammer in the Rhineland-Palatinate county of Südliche Weinstraße is a refuge hut in the Palatinate Forest run by the Ludwigshafen-Mannheim branch of the Palatinate Forest Club. It is located in the southern part of the Haardt mountains at the summit of its highest peak, the Kalmit ), and is thus the highest hut in the Palatinate Forest. From its terrace there is often a stunning view of the Upper Rhine Plain as far as the foothills of the southern Odenwald and northern Black Forest. Immediately next to the hut is the observation tower on the Kalmit, which is out of bounds to the public, and houses a radio relay station, a weather station and a visibility survey station.
A commemorative board below the Kalmithaus refers to a refuge hut built in 1882 by the Palatinate Conservation Club. The first hut managed by the Ludwigshafen branch of the Palatinate Forest Club was inaugurated in 1908. After the Second World War the Kalmit and its refuge hut were occupied by French troops. After lengthy negotiations the hut was handed back on 11 October 1953 and opened again in 1955. Following the receipt of a large sum of money from the War Damages Office, supplemented by donations, a brand new hut was opened in 1957. On 13 November 1981 the front part of the hut was completely destroyed by a gas explosion. After it was rebuilt the present Kalmithaus was inaugurated on 12 June 1983.