This site uses cookies to improve your experience and the quality of our services. By using this site you agree to its use of cookies. More information Hide


Need a hotel nearby?

Sponsored links

Routes nearby

Places of Interest nearby

Matched content

Hotels nearby

Restaurants nearby

Sponsored links

Location type: Organisation
Location address: Deutschland, München
Number of texts: 1
3 stars
Made by | Reference Wdwdbot | © CC 3.0
Made by | Reference | © CC 3.0

cbj is a German publisher of children’s literature based in Munich. It was founded in 1968 under the name “C. Bertelsmann Jugendbuchverlag”  and is still an independent part of the Random House Publishing Group. cbj publishes works by German and international authors. The publisher was made known by the book series “The Famous Five” by Enid Blyton, among others. In 2008, a part of the program was redistributed in the newly founded cbt publishing.
The history of cbj dates back to the 19th century. In 1835, Carl Bertelsmann founded C. Bertelsmann Publishing, to whose program also included children’s books. In 1861, 1869 and most recently in 1955, parts of the Liesching publishing from Stuttgart was taken over. Allowing the youth book program to grow. Youth books were later made one of five divisions of C. Bertelsmann Publishing. As the Bertelsmann Concerns Publishing merged into the Bertelsmann Publishing Group in 1968, for children’s literature the C. Bertelsmann Youth book Publishing was founded. In the early 1970s, the C. Bertelsmann Youth book Publishing published moved from Gütersloh to Munich, in with the other trade publishers of Bertelsmann. In 1995 it launched, under the name “omnibus”, a commercially successful series of paperbacks. In 2004, C. Bertelsmann Youth book Publishing was renamed cbj, so that it would not be confused with C. Bertelsmann Publisher. Pocket books for children appeared further under the name “omnibus” and paperbacks for young people under “cbt”.

Classify this POI
Link to route
Add this POI to your routes nearby

More information


Add comment

Sponsored links