HomeRoutesPlaces of interest

This site uses cookies to improve your experience and the quality of our services. By using this site you agree to its use of cookies. More information Hide

County of Werdenfels

Sponsored links


DE |

Public | GermanSpanish

Source: TomGonzales

Copyright: CC 3.0

The County of Werdenfels in the present-day Werdenfelser Land in South Germany was a county that enjoyed imperial immediacy that belonged to the Bishopric of Freising from the late 13th century until the secularisation of the Bishopric in 1803.
The county was administered from Werdenfels Castle. In 1294 Count Perchthold of Eschenloh sold his land to Bishop Emicho of Freising. The county was divided into three administrative areas: Garmisch, Partenkirchen and Mittenwald. The senior judge had his seat in Garmisch, where he held his hearings . Court sessions initially took place at the castle, but in 1632 they were moved to Schwaigwang.


Copyright: CC 3.0

More information



More about this place of interest

Routes nearby

Related channels

Sponsored links

© 2006-2018 RouteYou -