HomeRoutesPlaces of interest

Roman Catholic Diocese of Regensburg


DE |

Public | CatalanDutchFrenchGermanItalian

Source: Sfischer~commonswiki

Copyright: Creative Commons 3.0

The Diocese of Regensburg is a Roman Catholic ecclesiastical territory seated in Regensburg, Germany. Its district covers parts of northeastern Bavaria; it is subordinate to the archbishop of Munich and Freising. The diocese has 1.22 million Catholics, constituting 81% of its population. The current bishop is Rudolf Voderholzer. The main diocesan church is Saint Peter in Regensburg. The diocese is divided into eight regions and 33 deaneries with 769 parishes. It covers an area of 14,665 km².
The diocese was founded in 739 by Saint Boniface; it was originally subordinate to the archbishop of Salzburg. By the Reichsdeputationshauptschluss of 1803, the Bishopric was incorporated into the new Archbishopric of Regensburg.


Copyright: Creative Commons 3.0

More information


Ratisbon, Germany

More about this place of interest


Routes nearby

Related channels

© 2006-2018 RouteYou -