HomeRoutesPlaces of interest

South Tipperary


IE |

Public | CatalanDutchFrenchItalian

Source: Mikel

Copyright: Creative Commons 3.0

South Tipperary was a county in Ireland. It was part of the South-East Region and was also located in the province of Munster. It was named after the town of Tipperary and consisted of 52% of the land area of the traditional county of Tipperary. South Tipperary County Council was the local authority for the county. The population of the county was 88,433 according to the 2011 census. It was abolished on 3 June 2014, merged with North Tipperary under a new Tipperary County Council.
The county was part of the central plain of Ireland, but the diversified terrain contained several mountain ranges: the Knockmealdown, the Galtee. The county was landlocked. The county was drained by the River Suir. The centre was known as 'the Golden Vale', a rich pastoral stretch of land in the Suir basin which extends into counties Limerick and Cork.


Copyright: Creative Commons 3.0

More information


South Tipperary

More about this place of interest


Routes nearby

Related channels

© 2006-2018 RouteYou -