Previously, there stood on the spot of the Old Town Hall the first 'Regthuys'or Courthouse. The Kerkbrink was the bustling center of Hilversum. The first Regthuys burned down during the great town fire in 1766.
Hilversum grew quickly and the city council pushed for a new town hall.Architect Mr. J. Rietbergen was commissioned, and in 1882 he completed a charming,neo-Renaissance town hall. The interior walls of the building, which was rebuilt in 1768, still stand, and the materials from demolished parts were reused.
The Town Hall is built in neo-Renaissance style. The typical combination of church, town hall and commons can still be found only in Hilversum. Above the door on the main floor, the arms of Hilversum are displayed, four gold-colored buck wheat grains on a blue shield.
At the beginning of the 20th century, Hilversum grew faster than expected. The city council outgrew its quarters. The mayor again made plans fora new town hall. The commission was given to Dudok with his appointment as the director of Public Works. The new Town Hall of Hilversum would become Dudok's masterpiece.
The Old Town Hall thus offered a home to the 'Goois Museum'. Until 1969,there were exhibitions about local history shown. During the war years, when Dudok's Town Hall was used by the occupiers, the mayor and his council temporarily moved back to the Old Town Hall.
In 1988, the museum returned to the restored Town Hall. The name is nowHilversum Museum. The museum also hosts on the premises the regional Gooi &Vecht Tourist information and a museum shop. The Dudokdependance next to thenew Town Hall on Dudokpark also makes up part of the Hilversum Museum.
The Dudok bike route begins and ends at the old Town Hall. You can explorethe Kerkbrink and the surrounding streets before or after following the bikeroute. The area offers a wide and unusual assortment of stores and restaurants.