The Shuart-Van Orden Stone House is located on Allhusen Road in Plattekill, New York, United States, near the Thaddeus Hait Farm. The original stone house was built around 1765. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1995, as a highly stylized version of a typical Hudson Valley Dutch Colonial house, the use of brick and gambrel roof in its construction reflecting the influence of migrants from New Jersey and New York City, where that was more common.
The 1 1⁄2-story house has a five-bay the front constructed of brick from clay deposits on the site. A veranda with bell-shaped profile is found on the rear. It was extensively renovated in the 1980s to restore its original historical appearance and shore up the deteriorating east and west walls. During this time, a stone wing was added to the west, built from a stone house in nearby Modena. It houses the furnace and other modern mechanicals, leaving the cellar in its unique and original form.
Copyright: CC 3.0