Places of Interest nearby
Number of texts: 3
Paleokastro means ‘old castle’. The castle was built by the Frankish ruler Nicholas II de St. Omer after 1278. He married the widow of William Villehardouin, who conquered the Peloponnese after the crusade to Constantinople. This castle was dominating the sea and the bay and offered a great view over a big part of Messinia. It is even stated that on clear moonless night, the light reflection of Malta can be seen. Later on, Venetians engineers redesigned the castle. The walls to west and south were the most impressive ones. The steep slopes of the Koryphasion horst to east and north formed a natural protection. The main entrance was from the south. The main harbour was probably also at the south of Koryphasion. This castle didn’t cover the main entrance of the bay. Therefore, an extra castle was needed: Neokastro.
The Palaiokastro was founded by the Franks in the 12th century who ruled the area till the Turks came in 1452. It is a stiff, and very sweaty, walk from the beach, past Nestor’‘s Cave to the ramparts of the Kastro. The Paleokastro (The Old Castle) offers the majestic views of the Ionian Sea and Voidokilia. The Paliokastro played an important role in all the events that took place in Pylos, but after the enclosing of the pass of Sykia by the Turks, played a minimal role because than started the building of Niokastro in the south of the harbor.
The Paliokastro ( Greece Peloponnese ) is located on the south side of the Voidokilia beach. It is a medieval castle of the 13th century built by the Franks. Visitors have to walk about 20 minutes but the view of the whole area is breathtaking.