Castle Hof in Melis

Source: foto Loebas

A moat whole, consisting of a court with outbuildings and the actual castle complex with different volumes from the first quarter of the 20th century, inspired by neo-Flemish Renaissance style, going back to an old site.

The "Melisheim" mentioned in the old documents contains a suffix (-heim or -hem) that refers to an inhabited place (farm, village,....): at the oldest mention in 1448 there is mention of a farm, fief of the lords of Grimbergen, then belonging to Maria Taye and then owned by several prominent families. Since the 18th century until today property of the family de Beughem de Houtem, the last of which died in 1961. Today it is still inhabited by Baroness Anne-Marie van Eyll, widow of viscount and mayor Arthur de Beughem who donated it by will to his nephew Geoffroy de Pierrefeu.

The original complex was located in the middle of the Breut and Castle Heath (see old maps); grew into a castle of the lordship of Melis with the "Wo(e)l(f)put(te)hoef" (see Breutheide number 20 site with preserved ramparts) as dependent tenant court (until 1977). According to a first, brief description of January 18, 1649, this would have looked like a fortified house, closed on four sides, with tower(s), embrasures, moat and drawbridge. Testimonies from the 19th and 20th centuries speak of a chapel, a pond, a gazebo and ice cellar ("coelcamere") in the forest.

A moat whole, consisting of a court with outbuildings and the actual castle complex with different volumes from the first quarter of the 20th century, inspired by neo-Flemish Renaissance style, going back to an old site.

The "Melisheim" mentioned in the old documents contains a suffix (-heim or -hem) that refers to an inhabited place (farm, village,....): at the oldest mention in 1448 there is mention of a farm, fief of the lords of Grimbergen, then belonging to Maria Taye and then owned by several prominent families. Since the 18th century until today property of the family de Beughem de Houtem, the last of which died in 1961. Today it is still inhabited by Baroness Anne-Marie van Eyll, widow of viscount and mayor Arthur de Beughem who donated it by will to his nephew Geoffroy de Pierrefeu.

The original complex was located in the middle of the Breut and Castle Heath (see old maps); grew into a castle of the lordship of Melis with the "Wo(e)l(f)put(te)hoef" (see Breutheide number 20 site with preserved ramparts) as dependent tenant court (until 1977). According to a first, brief description of January 18, 1649, this would have looked like a fortified house, closed on four sides, with tower(s), embrasures, moat and drawbridge. Testimonies from the 19th and 20th centuries speak of a chapel, a pond, a gazebo and ice cellar ("coelcamere") in the forest.

A moat whole, consisting of a court with outbuildings and the actual castle complex with different volumes from the first quarter of the 20th century, inspired by neo-Flemish Renaissance style, going back to an old site.

The "Melisheim" mentioned in the old documents contains a suffix (-heim or -hem) that refers to an inhabited place (farm, village,....): at the oldest mention in 1448 there is mention of a farm, fief of the lords of Grimbergen, then belonging to Maria Taye and then owned by several prominent families. Since the 18th century until today property of the family de Beughem de Houtem, the last of which died in 1961. Today it is still inhabited by Baroness Anne-Marie van Eyll, widow of viscount and mayor Arthur de Beughem who donated it by will to his nephew Geoffroy de Pierrefeu.

The original complex was located in the middle of the Breut and Castle Heath (see old maps); grew into a castle of the lordship of Melis with the "Wo(e)l(f)put(te)hoef" (see Breutheide number 20 site with preserved ramparts) as dependent tenant court (until 1977). According to a first, brief description of January 18, 1649, this would have looked like a fortified house, closed on four sides, with tower(s), embrasures, moat and drawbridge. Testimonies from the 19th and 20th centuries speak of a chapel, a pond, a gazebo and ice cellar ("coelcamere") in the forest.

Plus d'informations

Traduit par Azure

Réactions Statistiques

BE | | Publique | Néerlandais

Adresse

Kasteeldreef 32, 2890 Puurs-Sint-Amands, Vlaams Gewest, Belgique

Publicité

Choses à faire dans la région

Puurs-Sint-Amands

Rechercher

Puurs-Sint-Amands

Choisissez parmi plus de 40 activités:

Recherche d'itinéraires

- Sélections RouteYou -

Puurs-Sint-Amands

Découvrez les itinéraires les plus jolis et les plus populaires de la région, soigneusement regroupés dans des sélections appropriées.

Source: foto Loebas

Lieux d'intérêt à proximité

Puurs-Sint-Amands

- Sélections RouteYou -

Puurs-Sint-Amands

Découvrez les lieux d'intérêt les plus jolis et les plus populaires de la région, soigneusement regroupés dans des sélections appropriées.

Destinations proches

Puurs-Sint-Amands

Source: foto Loebas

Planifiez votre itinéraire

Avec RouteYou, il est facile de créer ses propres cartes personnalisées. Il vous suffit pour cela de tracer votre itinéraire, d'ajouter des points de passage ou des jonctions, d'inclure des lieux d'intérêt et des bars/restaurants pour une petite pause et de partager cet itinéraire avec votre famille et vos amis.

Planificateur d'itinéraires

Planificateur d'itinéraires

Ce lieu d'intérêt sur votre site

<iframe src="https://plugin.routeyou.com/poiviewer/free/?language=fr&amp;params.poi.id=8275235&amp;params.language=en" width="100%" height="600" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Essayez cette fonctionnalité gratuitement avec un abonnement d'essai RouteYou Plus.

Si vous avez déjà un tel compte, connectez-vous maintenant.


Plus de 8 500 000 d'itinéraires


Plus de 15 000 000 d'utilisateurs


Plus de 4 200 000 de lieux d'intérêts

Adresse

Kerkstraat 108

9050 Gentbrugge, Belgique

Suivez-nous

Télécharger l'application gratuite

Contact

Marketing et ventes

sales@routeyou.com

Questions générales

info@routeyou.com

© 2006-2024 RouteYou - www.routeyou.com