Bergisches Land


DE |

Public | DutchFrenchGermanSpanish

Source: Simplicius

Copyright: CC 3.0

The Bergisches Land is a low mountain range region within the state of North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany, east of Rhine river, south of the Ruhr. The landscape is shaped by woods, meadows, rivers and creeks and contains over 20 artificial lakes. Wuppertal is the biggest town and seen as the region's capital, whereas the southern part nowadays has closer economic and socio-cultural ties to Cologne. The cities of Remscheid, Solingen and Wuppertal are three of the biggest cities in Bergisches Land and together form the Bergisches Städtedreieck.
Bergisches Land used to be territory of the County of Berg, which later became the Duchy of Berg, who gave the region its name. The Duchy was dissolved in 1815 and in 1822 the region became part of the Prussian Rhine Province.


Copyright: CC 3.0

More information


Rheinisch-Bergischer Kreis

Sponsored links

More about this place of interest

Routes nearby

Related channels

Sponsored links

© 2006-2017 RouteYou -