Church in Oreshetz
The Saint George Orthodox Christian church is on the foothills of the Balkan Mountain, on the upper end of the old village of Oreshets, which is about three kilometers from Gara Oreshets, the new locality that emerged after the building of a railway station in the early 20th century. The railway station is about 10 kilometers from the town of Belogradchik. According to a legend about the temple a young goatherd lost one of his goats and while looking for it he found an abandoned church. At that time the village of Oreshets was at some distance from there, but the villagers decided to move to the place where the church was found. Other local people claim that there is a strong energy, eradiating from that place, while their dreams reveal a constant thirst for life and faith. It is also claimed that the water of the fountain nearby has therapeutic powers. For that reason there are sometimes travelers, coming from quite far away.
The Saint George Church was built in the beginning of the 19th century, most probably on the foundations of a more ancient temple. Some of the masons came from Macedonia. The mural paintings are unique for the region. They are the work of several painters, the most famous of whom are Nikola Gheorgov and Vitan Nikolov (1850-1916). The latter was the grandson of the man, who had founded a school of traditional icon-painters in the town of Tryavna.
During the last two years the Board of Trustees of the St.George Church has been organizing worship gatherings, prayers, and feasts on each August 15. The temple is open for visitors each Sunday, as well as on the occasion of some important celebration.
Copyright: All rights reserved