HomeRoutesPlaces of interest

This site uses cookies to improve your experience and the quality of our services. By using this site you agree to its use of cookies. More information Hide

Boroughs and quarters of Hamburg

Sponsored links


DE |

Public | CatalanGerman

Source: GeorgHH

Copyright: CC 3.0

The city of Hamburg in Germany is made up of 7 boroughs and subdivided into 104 quarters . Most of the quarters were former independent settlements. As of 2008 the areal organisation is regulated by the constitution of Hamburg and several laws.
The first official administrative divisions of Hamburg were the parishes of four churches, the St. Peter's, St. Catherine's, St. James's and St. Nicholas's . On February 24, 1529 a compromise of 132 articles between the senate of Hamburg and the citizens established a council of citizens. The 12 councilmen were called Oberalte and were the 3 oldest diacons of the parishes. Each parish was given a confirmed border.


Copyright: CC 3.0

More information



More about this place of interest

Routes nearby

Related channels

Sponsored links

© 2006-2018 RouteYou -