HomeRoutesPlaces of interest



GB |

Public | CatalanDutchGermanItalian

Source: Twincinema~commonswiki

Copyright: Creative Commons 3.0

Banbridge was a local government district in Northern Ireland. The district was one of 26 council areas formed on 1 October 1973, following the implementation of the Local Government Act 1972. The headquarters of the council were in the town of Banbridge. In April 2015, most of the Banbridge district was included in the merged Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon district.

The area of the former district is in the west of County Down and covered an area of 175 square miles of countryside – from Slieve Croob in the east to the River Bann valley in the west. It is also the main gateway to the Mourne Mountains, which lie to the south and is bisected by the A1 route between Belfast and Dublin.


Copyright: Creative Commons 3.0

More information



More about this place of interest


Routes nearby

Related channels

© 2006-2018 RouteYou -