HomeRoutesPlaces of interest

Ballyhoura Mountains


IE |

Public | FrenchGermanItalian

Source: GeographBot

Copyright: Creative Commons 2.0

The Ballyhoura Mountains (Irish: An Sliabh Riabhach are located in south-east County Limerick and north-east County Cork in central Munster, running east and west for about 6 miles on the borders of both counties.
The southern part of the hills is largely afforested with conifers, on the northern side there is extensive heathland and blanket bog. The mountains include Seefin , near Seefin on the northwest is Black Rock and 3 miles to the west is Carron Mountain on the boundary of Cork and Limerick. Immediately east of Seefin is Knockea , east of which again is the detached mountain of Knockeennamroanta . Between these is the pass of Barnaderg, now called Redchair, leading from the plain of Limerick to the plain of Cork. At the north side of the valley is the peak of Barnageeha .


Copyright: Creative Commons 3.0

More information



More about this place of interest


Routes nearby

Related channels

© 2006-2018 RouteYou -