HomeRoutesPlaces of interest

Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Dublin


IE |

Public | CatalanDutchFrenchGermanItalianSpanish

Source: Sheila1988

Copyright: Creative Commons 4.0

The Archdiocese of Dublin, , is a Roman Catholic archdiocese in eastern Ireland centred on the republic's capital city – Dublin. The archdiocese is led by the Archbishop of Dublin, who serves as pastor of the mother church, St Mary's Pro-Cathedral and Metropolitan of the Metropolitan Province of Dublin. It was formally recognised as a metropolitan province in 1152 by the Synod of Kells. Its second archbishop, Lorcán Ua Tuathail , is also its patron saint.

The Province of Dublin is one of four ecclesiastical provinces that together form the Roman Catholic Church in Ireland; the other provinces are Armagh, Tuam and Cashel. The geographical remit of the province includes the city of Dublin, all of counties Fingal, South Dublin, Dún Laoghaire–Rathdown, most of County Wicklow, and fragments of counties Kildare, Carlow, Wexford and Laois.


Copyright: Creative Commons 3.0

More information


Dublin City

More about this place of interest


Routes nearby

Related channels

© 2006-2018 RouteYou -